Still very new to the rules so please excuse me if I'm missing something obvious.
I note that players roll for 'Movement Initiative' after Commanding Generals are moved by both players and I cannot see anything about which player moves their Commanding General first so presume that this is done simultaneously; is this correct?
I thought so but wanted to make sure I had it correct. I must admit to being a bit surprised because as you say in the rules, "his appropriate placement will often be crucial to success". So I was imagining both players waiting to see where the other player placed their Commanding General before placing their own.
It can also be crucial to failure! Playing the Lobositz scenario, it was key to get Frederick (dashing) away from Kyau and Gessler, both also dashing, so as not to get my shiny Prussian cavalry destroyed.......