Just in the middle of my first game with HoW, and thoroughly enjoying it (French v Hanoverians/Hessians, 10mm Pendraken Figures but using the 15mm scale). Just a quick one (and sorry if I've missed it in the rules), if firing at artillery in the turn they unlimber do you count them as 'deployed' and therefore as a 'difficult target' and -1 from the die?
Hello Paul, the simple answer is yes, they are deployed. There are exceptions that allow you to fire during the movement phase, see "crossing fire" on page 26 if you've not found it yet. A turn represents 10 minutes and units can get quite a lot of movement and firing into that time. Artillery take at least half a move to unlimber but the amount of time that the guns are actually in a limbered column of vehicles during the phase would be very limited. Just try and get them in the previous turn if you can. Enjoy your game! Rol