Looking at trying our first game of HoW this Sat., and we decided on the Combat of Strehla scenario. We played this scenario using another set of rules, and decided we wanted to play it again, so we could compare how it went.
Thinking how the game might go, I have a couple of questions.
Since entrenchments are impassible to cavalry (page 15 under linear obstacles), the Reichsarmee cavalry on the Austro-Imperial right flank cannot charge the Prussian infantry/artillery in/behind the entrenchments on the Strehla hill (i.e. it’s not that they could do it and not get the Cavalry Charging bonus, they just can’t do it), right?
So can they support the Reichsarmee infantry in a charge on those enthrenchments? It doesn't appear to me to be prohibited.
If they can't support, they are totally useless where they are over on the right flank, other than to deter the Prussians from sallying forth I suppose…
Those Reichsarmee cavalry are indeed badly placed. Their main role would be to counter Kleist's cavalry, though that would involve an awkward move to their left. You are right about them being unable to charge the defending infantry in their entrenchments - this makes sense to me. They would be able to support, though, which might be useful, or they could dismount of course and attack as light infantry (though you might decide to disallow this for cuirassier regiments). The other possibility is to filter past the Prussian entrenchments along the table edge in march column, if your table set up allows this. If done in concert with the infantry attack this might upset the Prussian applecart.
But the Reichsarmee right flank was mainly intended as a feint anyway, a full blown attack against the Prussian entrenchments being sensibly seen as a doomed.
Thanks for the reply. I had thought about the "filter past the Prussian entrenchments along the table edge in march column" maneuver, but it seemed a little too "gamey", and it was my intention to not allow this - probably by just having the entrenchments extend to the table edge.