Post by vondeutschland on Jan 26, 2017 7:01:18 GMT
Hello all. I was wondering about the automatic hit on a five roll. If I roll a five, that results in a hit. Then I go through the modifiers and add those hosts from the five iyself correct? A Friend Of Mine Thinks That You Can Only Get One Hit On A Five AND That You Don't Use The modifiers. So which is correct? Roll five, take hit and hits from hit table or roll five take hit and only the one hit?
'An unmodified roll of 5 always causes at least one hit'.
If you roll a five, go through the modifiers as usual, then refer to the Hit Table. If you have caused 1 or more hits there is no need to use the rule. If you find that the table says 0 hits, then you can claim 1 hit for rolling a 5. Therefore, you will never get less than 1 hit when rolling 5. The rule is there so that even in poor firing situations, it's always worth rolling the die just in case. It keeps players interested and adds a bit of spice to the game. Even in hopeless situations there's always the chance of a lucky shot.
Regular players will get to the stage where they recognise a situation where is no chance of causing hits unless a 5 is rolled, without having to check the table.
Your automatic hit for rolling a 5 is not added to anything. There is no '+1 for rolling a 5'.
Post by vondeutschland on Jan 26, 2017 17:18:54 GMT
I will concede defeat then. I appreciate the fast reply. Just so i understand then. roll of five only equals one hit and cannot be modified to 0 hits but it does not mean that I add on to the five using modifiers to increase the five to a six or higher. 5=1 hit always no higher, no lower correct? Thanks Again.
No, you're still not quite there. A roll of 5 means you add or subtract all applicable modifiers. If the result is two hits then score 2 hits; jf the result is one hit then score one hit; if the result is no hits then score one hit because you rolled a 5. You will ALWAYS get AT LEAST one hit if you roll a five. You may also get two or more hits DEPENDING ON MODIFIERS, but you will NEVER get ZERO hits.
Its only an automatic hit if the score on the Hit Table is 0.
If the result on the Hit Table is ZERO and the number you have rolled is 2, 3 or 4, you get ZERO hits. If the result on the Hit Table is ZERO but the number you have rolled is a 5, you get ONE hit. If the result on the Hit Table is ONE and you have rolled a 2, 3, 4 or 5, you only get ONE hit - no more! If the result on the Hit Table is TWO and you have rolled a 2, 3, 4 or 5, you only get TWO hits., etc.
So, no matter what the score is on the Hit Table, if you roll a 5, you will get a MINIMUM of ONE hit even though all of the modifiers are against you.
You've got it. I had to reread this several times when I started playing HoW to make sure I had interpreted it correctly. Keep on sending in any queries and the collective should be able to give you clear pointers to the solution.