Post by vondeutschland on Feb 14, 2017 0:30:57 GMT
Alright so I was playing a game with my roommate and we encountered a situation. I charged his cavalry with my own cavalry and the rules are written in such a way that he was able to counter charge me. Is that supposed to happen because I find it hard to believe that a squadron of cavalry would be able to stop, reform and charge an already formed and charging unit in the heat of battle. it just doesn't make sense to me especially since the rules for charging represent roughly 10 minutes of battle. Whats the right answer>
The rules are based on the general belief during the SYW that shock action was the best way to employ cavalry. It was the job of cavalry to charge other cavalry, and in response it was considered suicidal to simply stand still and wait for an incoming charge. Any decently trained cavalry would be ready to countercharge when threatened.
Your post is titled 'cavalry charged in the rear', although the text does not indicate that this is the situation you find unbelievable. In the rules, charging cavalry can gain an advantage by charging from the flank or rear, which prevents a countercharge (p.24, bottom of page). Note also that even if charged frontally from close range (half a move or less), there is basically only a 50-50 chance of a countercharge, representing situations where the target unit is surprised as a result of being unable to track an approaching enemy cavalry unit.
The 10 minute length of a move has the opposite effect (IMHO) to that which you state. Cavalry charges could take time to organise, sometimes (as you imply) needing reforming or formation changes in preparation. This gives the intended target more time to recognise the threat and prepare in their turn.
In short, the rules are based on what I consider the historical reality. As ever, I stand ready to hear counter arguments.