Post by westmarcher on Feb 16, 2017 18:53:51 GMT
Currently fighting Spittelwitz and encountered the following situations involving light troops.
- Red Force’s extreme left flank light infantry unit changes facing to face its left flank to fire on a weakened Blue Force close order infantry unit and successfully causes it to retire. Next turn, a second Blue Force close order infantry unit charges it on its right flank which is now resting on the entrenchments. It decides to evade and moves back towards the Red Force lines and out of the woods and entrenchments. Still in the same turn, its Brigade then rolls an ‘Inspiring' move. The Inspiring rule says each unit must make at least one move towards the nearest enemy but the Evade rules say, “Units that have evaded cannot move again that turn.” Faced with this contradiction, I rationalised that the Evade rule cancelled out one of the two moves which the Inspiring rule allows and, to follow the spirit of the Inspiring rule, used the light infantry unit's remaining move to advance it towards its nearest enemy. This placed it back in the entrenchments but this time facing the unit it had originally evaded from(!). It then successfully repulsed the second Blue Force infantry unit’s assault. Comments, please.
- Blue Force's Mixed Legion has crossed the river with its Hussar Regiment leading the advance. Red Force’s Cavalry Brigade having rolled an ‘Admirable’ move, charges the Hussar regiment which decides to evade. In accordance with the Evade rule, Red Force’s leading and supporting Dragoon Regiments halt. However, as it has a second move, the leading Dragoon Regiment charges the Hussar Regiment again. Because the Evade rule says, “Units that have evaded cannot move again that turn,” I rationalised that this time, the Hussar Regiment could not evade and had to fight it out. Comments, please.
- Musketry: Speaking to dandare recently, he raised an interesting question about light infantry units and battalion guns that hadn't previously occurred to me. Should they have them? Although I’m aware Croats may have had some very small calibre (breech loading?) guns, I cannot imagine they were as effective as a close order infantry battalion's guns. I've therefore decided to play this scenario assuming they do not have battalion guns. I’ve also decided that any Blue Force infantry unit that fords the river, leaves their battalion guns behind (because artillery can only cross at bridges), and thus their musketry range is also reduced thereafter. Has anyone else taken this approach?