Had a great club game of HoW yesterday. Just threw everything that I have on the table and decided to have at each other. The pic below is of a situation we encountered and I'd like to get your thoughts if we played it right. I've labelled the pic so I hope it's clear as to the sequence that occurred. In a nut shell, my French infantry unit was charged in the flank by a Hanoverian cav unit. It spent more than half it's move charging in so I tried to get the infantry to turn and face - failed. The allied player then activated a Hanoverian inf unit to attach my frontally. So, we played it as my French having a -2 from having cav on the flank. Having failed to turn, I then have to fight it out with the charging allied infantry to my front. They moved less than half so I could not opt to counter charge, plus this is probably not possible due to the cav stuck on my right flank. The allies also get a +1 support from the other inf unit close by on it's left flank and within 4cm (we use 20mm scale stats).
I hope this all makes sense plus the pic. Question is, did I/we play this correctly? Thanks for any thoughts.
Dave, I reckon you have it all correct. Those Frenchies don't stand much of a chance, I'm afraid. The +1 for infantry charging is not in the original rulebook, of course. It can be found in the amendments download, amendment 6. But it looks as though you already know that.
Thanks for taking the trouble to raise your query and for providing such a useful photo. Glad you had a good game.
Many thanks for validating out thinking Keith. Our quite right that my French unit was in a pickle. Even if they had turned, the Hanoverian inf would have been on my left flank. No win situation. -2 hurts. Mind you, so does -1 for move activation for the whole French army! I do like playing the underdog.