Hello - new to group and just clarifying after our first game - Lobositz scenario from rule book - most enjoyable game.
So we assumed that units may Counter-charge when Charged even if they had already made their normal move earlier in the turn (although it does not specifically say so in the rules - but seemed common sense and more realistic).
But later we had Evade and Interception by Counter-charge also being contemplated by units that had already moved earlier in the turn and we had some uncertainty arise - mostly by the side being inconvenienced by the situation. It seemed to me that if Counter-charging is allowed (we assume this is correct) then the other "reaction" options must also be allowed. Did we do this correctly? The other "no" side of the discussion focused on page 24 under the EVADING heading where it specifically covers the reverse situation in that a unit that has evaded "cannot move again that turn" and it was this line that cased the discussion (civil and friendly at all times of course) that maybe units could only move once during a turn - and also the Fire combat restriction that if you shoot during movement against Chargers or Crossing Fire, you do not Fire again in the normal Fire Phase - thanks for any clarification.
Also - I assume that the Evading unit "cannot move again that turn" also means it may not evade a second time?
Last Edit: Nov 10, 2017 6:14:18 GMT by gary: Added another question about Evading
Looking at page 23 under the COUNTER-CHARGING heading I think I have found my answer in that it explicitly says that units may Counter-charge even if they have already moved in that turn. It would seem that the rule is that a normal move does not prevent a unit from reacting later in the same turn, but a "reaction" move (counter-charge, interception, evade) prevents all further movement in that same turn.
Thanks for any further clarification - particularly if I am getting this wrong.
Regarding counter charging, you are correct Gary. On p.24 it states that counter-charging is possible even if the unit has already double moved.
As for evades and such, I myself play it as Gary indicates - you can react if you have moved, but can't move again once you have reacted. Really, this is simply a game convention, and I admit it could have been made clearer. Some players may prefer not to allow an evade if a unit has already moved, for example, but I prefer to allow some flexibility.
Certainly, only 1 evade per turn is allowed.
Thanks for raising this Gary. Sorry for the lack of clarity.
Thanks for the responses - all seems clear now. Considering it was our first try of the rules I think we got through the game quite well with only a few "um?" moments and we have been able to clarify most of those with another read afterwards. The game was good fun as well.