A limber towing a gun with the gun crew trailing along behind is moving toward the enemy. The center front of the gun crew stand is touching the rear of the limber stand (which has space for the gun, of course.)
Next move the gun is unlimbered where the gun was at the end of the previous move. The gun crew shifts forward to "surround" the gun (so that their stand is underneath it and centered on it.) The gun is now in firing position. The limber now shifts around to behind the gun with the short front or rear edge - it doesn't matter which - touching the gun crew's stand. It fires a round or two.
Two turns later the gun has orders to move forward again. In half a turn (if nationally appropriate) the limber moves around forward of the gun and slides its stand in under the gun (still in the same location,) while the gun crew slides backwards so its stand is touching the back of the limber's stand. Having half a turn left for movement, it now can move forward 10 cm.
Note: The bases of my limbers have room for the gun on them, as you will see.
This is a question that also occurred to me in my early games. Of course, as Keith points out, the answer is in page 20 of the rules. And as you have probably found out by now, this tells you which base (gun or limber) to use for measuring when limbering or unlimbering.
However, it strikes me that your model gun may be free-standing and so, when limbered is not actually attached to a base? And when unlimbering, you then place a base with crew on the table to accommodate the gun?
I find that a good one to remember with all movement is the last sentence in the page before which says, "In all cases, no part of any base may move further than the allowed maximum." Therefore, to unlimber, perhaps it would help to place the crew base on the table behind the limber and then measure movement from that?
An infantry battalion is poised within less than a half move distance of the front of two artillery batteries. They have orders to charge.
1. Do the artillery batteries automatically get to fire? 2. Do they get their full fire effect?
As this is a 15-minute move, I can't actually argue that the infantry have a chance to cover the intervening distance before the artillery is reloaded; however I could make a case that the artillery only gets in half or less of their firing before contact.
Hello jerry, 1. Yes. 2. Yes. The notional 15 minute turn is only in the Marlburian version, its 10 minutes in the original rules. I would make the equally plausible case that artillery under direct assault went from a steady, ammunition preserving rate to a much higher "they're coming to kill us" rate. Artillery was able to achieve higher rates of fire than musketry and continue to do so for longer periods of time. Direct assaults on batteries were rarely successful. If you feel differently then modify to suit yourself. Cheers rol