Really basic question and apologies if this has been raised before. During movement (and firing for that matter) if one player decides to 'pass' and not move any (or fire from) units in a brigade, I presume that movement (or firing) for that side is finished for that turn?
E.g. Player A moves a brigade. Player B moves a brigade Player A moves another brigade Player B 'passes' (End of movement for that turn for player B)? Player A moves the rest of his brigades
Not quite Paul. If a player decides not to move a particular brigade or independent unit, that doesn't end that player's movement phase. The opposing player can move/not move a brigade or independent unit, then alternate activation continues. This should have been made clearer in the rules on p.18 - it's one of those assumptions of the rule writer that should have been written in.
The same applies to firing. Choosing not to move or not to fire counts as activation - you don't have to do either. With moving, this becomes a basic game tactic - during the move phase, I'll usually start by choosing brigades that don't want to move, thus turning play over to my opponent and perhaps forcing him to reveal his intentions.
Many thanks for the reply. Just so that I have got this correct as it possibly the most important part of the rules. Are you saying that, using my example above, player B, when it is his turn to move (or fire) a brigade, he has to nominate which one he is not going to move (or fire) and cannot change his mind and come back to that brigade later in the turn?
Sorry if I am being a bit pedantic/slow on this, I just want to clarify that a player cannot simply 'pass' on moving a brigade (or brigades) and then decide when his opponent has finished moving all of his brigades that he will now move all of his having seen where his opponent has moved all of his troops. (Again hope that makes sense).