In my current battle, I have a situation. My Hanoverian army is entrenched, with French attacking them. Three questions come up about a single situation.
I have a French battalion which has advanced into contact with two Hanoverian battalions, exactly at the seam. Which battalion is it fighting, and which takes the casualties?
Both Hanoverian battalions have other enemy units close to their front. To fire/fight the one French battalion that has contacted them, most of them would have to fire obliquely, approaching a 90 degree angle. The other units to their front would be more obvious targets, but the one in contact is their greater threat and sort of hard to ignore. What is their target? Do I treat them as in BUA and allow them to fire/fight twice at a -1 deduction?
In the melee, do the Hanoverians get any benefit from being entrenched? Is this where the "Target in Heavy Cover" modifier applies to the first round?
I have resolved the situation* as best I could so that the battle can proceed, but I would like to hear how close I was to correct.
*One Hanoverian battalion meleed and drove the French battalion off. The other fired at an alternate target.
See pp. 22-23. If the attacking unit has no alternative than to charge 2 defending units, then it has to fight both (hard luck - should have had the sense to charge one only). For firing , target priorities are covered on p.26 - and no, the BUA rules don't apply here. If in doubt, split the fire as you and your opponent see fit. The crossing fire rule will also apply.
Entrenched in melee? Yes, heavy cover for the first round as per the rules.