Regarding counter charging, you are correct Gary. On p.24 it states that counter-charging is possible even if the unit has already double moved.
As for evades and such, I myself play it as Gary indicates - you can react if you have moved, but can't move again once you have reacted. Really, this is simply a game convention, and I admit it could have been made clearer. Some players may prefer not to allow an evade if a unit has already moved, for example, but I prefer to allow some flexibility.
Certainly, only 1 evade per turn is allowed.
Thanks for raising this Gary. Sorry for the lack of clarity.
What you are doing is correct. I appreciate this may seem a little odd to some wargamers - my rationalisation is given in the 'Author's Notes' section - see the paragraphs below the 3rd photo down.
Hope that makes sense. Of course, if you disagree with the method you just need to establish some sort of initiative situation in melee - i.e. who goes first, rather than the simultaneous fighting I have assumed. Personally, I didn't do this for simplicity, and because going first would give too great an advantage to the side with the initiative.
If unlimbered, the artillery have a chance to fight back if they manage to turn and face - in particular, they will be able to fire canister at the cavalry as they charge in. If they do not turn to face, their chances of survival are slim to zero. They may manage to inflict a hit or 2 against the cavalry before succumbing if they are lucky.
So, now we have 300 members on this forum. Nice! Welcome to 'talisman' and 'abrahamincok' who were the 300th and 299th members rspectively.
Perhaps I could take this opportunity to encourage the many 'lurkers' (no offence intended) who prefer to keep in the background to step forward with photos, battle reports, comments or suggestions. We would love to hear from you.
And if you haven't seen this stuff, you really should:
Dave, I reckon you have it all correct. Those Frenchies don't stand much of a chance, I'm afraid. The +1 for infantry charging is not in the original rulebook, of course. It can be found in the amendments download, amendment 6. But it looks as though you already know that.
Thanks for taking the trouble to raise your query and for providing such a useful photo. Glad you had a good game.
The rules as amended (or clarified, if you're being charitable to the author) would be that a unit can perform a wheel of any size within 20cm of the enemy (assuming 28mm figures and distances are being used) provided the move takes place 'mostly' in the flank or rear sector of the enemy. Thus your wheeling unit would have to start its move with more than half of the unit already to the flank or rear of its opponents.
See the 'Amendments and Clarifications' download, amendment 4.