Thanks both. The Lights evade came about where an Independent British Light Infantry Unit were first charged by a formed Independent French Line Infantry Unit. The British Evaded. The British then had no more Brigades or Independent Units to move so the only thing left was French Cavalry which, rolling a double move, again charged the British Lights. The question is can they evade from this second Cavalry charge? The rules are not clear on this (or I am not reading them correctly). Had the British Lights evaded again the French Cavalry would not have caught them. We decided they could not do 2 evades in a turn and so they died after 2 rounds of melee....seems we got that right then?
Also when do evading Light Infantry fire i.e. at what range?
Just umpired a very enjoyable game in 15mm (but using the 20mm measurements) for Barry Hilton's Scenario 1 'Take the High Ground'. This was an intro game for 2 players who had never even heard of HoW. For National Characteristics we did British (red force essentially defending) vs French. British win 4-1.
Three things I was unclear on/questions I could not answer:
1. Can you remove casualties (all conditions met) from a unit in the phase 7. Rally Phase in the turn they are inflicted (i.e. in phase 5. Firing Phase and Reaction)? 2. Can a Light Unit evade more than once in a turn? 3. Why is there no Musket firing bonus for shooting at a unit in column formation?
Hi Does the 20cms rule prevent anything else please? From what I have read: It stops wheeling more than 45 degrees. You cannot interpenetrate a unit if that unit is with 20cms of a facing enemy (does the enemy have to have that unit in its forward arc? I.e can you do this if the enemy presents it flank?))
Does the 20cm rule have impact on formation changes?